Bob Mould Preps Deluxe Reissue of Solo Debut 'Workbook'

Bob Mould Preps Deluxe Reissue of Solo Debut 'Workbook'
Long-running alt-pop figure Bob Mould is getting ready to toast his first solo album, Workbook, having unveiled plans to deliver a deluxe two-disc reissue ahead of a quick stretch of album-themed tour dates.

Mould announced through his website today (December 9) that the upcoming revamp, called Workbook 25, drops February 25 on double CD and double LP through Omnivore Recordings.

The record had initially been delivered in 1989 through Virgin, following the 1988 breakup of Hüsker Dü. Mould wrote and produced the gentler album on his own, while he was joined on the recording by the Golden Palominos drummer Anton Fier, Pere Ubu's Tony Maimone on bass and cellist Jane Scarpantoni.

The first disc of the set will include the original Workbook, as well as B-side "All Those People Know," which had first appeared on the "See a Little Light" single. The second disc, meanwhile, features a 17-song set as performed at Chicago's Cabaret Metro in 1989. Thirteen of the songs are previously unreleased, with the performance including solo material, as well as material originally performed by Hüsker Dü and a cover of Richard and Linda Thompson's "Shoot Out the Lights."

You'll find the tracklist down below.

Just after the Workbook reissue hits stores, Mould and bassist Jason Narducy will hit the road to perform cuts from the LP and other assorted tracks from the songwriter's career. None of the shows take place in Canada, mind you, but you'll find the show info beneath the tracklisting.

Workbook 25:

Disc 1: Workbook:

1. Sunspots

2. Wishing Well

3. Heartbreak A Stranger

4. See A Little Light

5. Poison Years

6. Sinners And Their Repentances

7. Brasilia Crossed With Trenton

8. Compositions For The Young And Old

9. Lonely Afternoon

10. Dreaming, I Am

11. Whichever Way The Wind Blows

12. All Those People Know (Bonus track)

Disc 2: Live At The Cabaret Metro:

1. Sunspots

2. Wishing Well

3. Compositions For The Young And Old

4. Heartbreak A Stranger

5. Dreaming, I Am

6. If You're True

7. Poison Years

8. Sinners And Their Repentances

9. Lonely Afternoon

10. Brasilia Crossed With Trenton

11. See A Little Light

12. Whichever Way The Wind Blows

13. All Those People Know

14. Shoot Out The Lights

15. Hardly Getting Over It

16. Celebrated Summer

17. Makes No Sense At All

Tour dates:

02/27 San Francisco - Great American Music Hall (Noise Pop Festival)

03/01 Chicago - Old Town

03/02 Chicago - City Winery

03/04 Minneapolis - The Women's Club

03/05 Washington DC - 9:30 Club

03/07 New York - City Winery

03/08 New York - City Winery