​Conor Oberst Preps 'Ruminations' Companion Album 'Salutations'

​Conor Oberst Preps 'Ruminations' Companion Album 'Salutations'
Last year's Ruminations heard Conor Oberst stripping things down to just his voice, piano, guitar and harmonica, but he's revisiting that record's songs for a new, full-band companion piece. Titled Salutations, the follow-up record will arrive on March 17 via Nonesuch Records.
All of the tracks have been given the full-band treatment courtesy of the Felice Brothers and drummer Jim Keltner. The new versions of the songs were recorded at Shangri-la Studios in Malibu, with Keltner stepping up as co-producer alongside engineer Andy LeMaster.
"Jim was really the captain of the ship and the spiritual leader of the project," Oberst said in a statement. "We leaned heavy on his fifty-plus years of musical insight to get us to where we needed to be. He brought such depth and dignity to the proceedings that made everyone else involved rise to the occasion. It was a true stroke of luck that he got involved when he did."
There's also an impressive roster of guest appearances on Salutations, including cameos from Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott and Jonathan Wilson.
In addition to the full-band versions of the 10 tracks off Ruminations, the new LP includes seven new songs. Find the full tracklisting down below, and listen to the revamped rendition of "A Little Uncanny."
You can also head here to see Oberst's upcoming tour dates, though he currently has no plans to visit Canada.
1. Too Late to Fixate
2. Gossamer Thin
3. Overdue
4. Afterthought
5. Next of Kin
6. Napalm
7. Mamah Borthwick (A Sketch)
8. Till St. Dymphna Kicks Us Out
9. Barbary Coast (Later)
10. Tachycardia
11. Empty Hotel By the Sea
12. Anytime Soon
13. Counting Sheep
14. Rain Follows the Plow
15. You All Loved Him Once
16. A Little Uncanny
17. Salutation