Jason Collett Returns with 'Song and Dance Man' LP, Plots 2015 Basement Revue Series

Jason Collett Returns with 'Song and Dance Man' LP, Plots 2015 Basement Revue Series
Folksy Broken Social Scene-ster and solo singer-songwriter Jason Collett has revealed plans for a brand new full-length album. Titled Song and Dance Man, the record is due out on February 5 through Arts & Crafts.
The new album follows 2012's Reckon and was produced by Bahamas' Afie Jurvanen. According to a press release, the new set of songs hears Collett delivering "contemplative reflections on getting older, backed with an affinity for freewheeling '70s dance music."
Jurvanen played bass on the recording too, accompanying Collett's spacious, groove-laden, free-flowing melodies. "There's a cool economy to Afie's approach that lets the record breathe and allows it to say more with less, something I worked hard at hardly working at in writing the songs," said Collett in a statement. "Keeping a light touch, keeping it short."
The album was recorded at Don Kerr's Rooster Studio in the spring of 2015. Kerr played drums on the record as part of a band that was rounded out by Christine Bougie on guitar and lap steel and Zeus' Neil Quinn on backing vocals. See the full tracklisting and hear the album's title track below.

In addition to the forthcoming record, Collett has unveiled plans for his annual Basement Revue series. It's become a holiday time institution in the Toronto music community, and the singer-songwriter has confirmed that it will be returning next month for its ninth consecutive run.
The series will return to the Dakota Tavern on December 1, with shows slated for each Tuesday of the month up to and including December 29. While the lineups have yet to be revealed, the event is billed as "a unique night of music, poetry and special guests" hosted by Collett and Damian Rogers. Tickets are going for $30 and are available here.
Song and Dance Man:
1. Provincial Blues
2. Song And Dance Man
3. Forever Young Is Getting Old
4. Long Day's Shadow
5. Little Sparrow
6. If She Don't Love Me Now
7. Singing American
8. Love You Babe
9. Black Oak Savanna
10. Where Does Your Love Go?
11. Nobody's Fool
12. It Don't Matter Anymore
13. Staring At The Sun
2015 Basement Revue dates:
12/01 Toronto, ON – The Dakota Tavern
12/08 Toronto, ON – The Dakota Tavern
12/15 Toronto, ON – The Dakota Tavern
12/22 Toronto, ON – The Dakota Tavern
12/29 Toronto, ON – The Dakota Tavern