Kataklysm Ready New Album 'Unconquered'

Watch a video for opener "The Killshot" now
Kataklysm Ready New Album 'Unconquered'
Canadian death metal vets Kataklysm have shared news of their 14th studio album. The band's Unconquered will arrive September 25 through Nuclear Blast.

Nine tracks in length, Unconquered  follows 2018's Meditations and was recorded and engineered by guitarist Jean-François Dagenais at his JFD Studio in Dallas. The album was mixed by Colin Richardson and Chris Clancy, while its artwork comes courtesy of Blake Armstrong.

Album opener "The Killshot" arrives alongside the announcement, and you can take in a video for it below. As the band explained in a press release, "The song deals with revenge and planning it out, [we] wrote the song in an open interpretation because everyone has their own story that they can attach to it.

"In general, the album deals with pain or setbacks, overcoming them and fighting back — especially in today's situation, the timing is on point. In February, we flew to Atlanta, Georgia, and worked with ['The Killshot' music video] director Scott Hanson. We saw some of his creations and wanted to try his style. The experience was awesome and we won't forget it anytime soon. Everything went great but it was there, sitting at the airport, that we first started seeing on all the screens that COVID-19 was about to shutdown the country."


1. The Killshot
2. Cut Me Down
3. Underneath The Scars
4. Focused To Destroy You
5. The Way Back Home
6. Stitches
7. Defiant
8. Icarus Falling
9. When It's Over