Lydia Ainsworth Readies New Album 'Sparkles & Debris'

Hear opener "Parade" from the Toronto artist's latest
Lydia Ainsworth Readies New Album 'Sparkles & Debris'
Lydia Ainsworth has detailed a new album. The Toronto vocalist, composer and producer will share fourth full-length Sparkles & Debris on May 21 via Zombie Cat Records.

Sparkles & Debris follows Ainsworth's 2019 trip through the Phantom Forest and features the previously shared "Forever" and cover of Chic's "Good Times." Opener "Parade" arrives alongside today's announcement and can be heard below.

The 11-song Sparkles & Debris is also said to find Ainsworth breaking away from the more solitary creative process of previous albums. Vocals were recorded with engineer/mixer Dajaun Martineau in Toronto, while sessions at the city's Desert Fish and Noble Street studios featured Mark Kelso on drums, and Neil Chapman and John Findlay on electric guitar and bass, respectively.

"Longing seems to be a major theme running through my songs on this album," said Ainsworth of her latest. "Whether that is longing in love, longing to be free from oppression, or longing for the muse of inspiration to make an appearance. I have included some spells and charms in there as well that have proven effective, if any of my listeners want to use them for help with their own desires."

Last year saw Ainsworth contribute to a remix EP from Girlpool.

Sparkles & Debris:

1. Parade
2. Forever
3. Cosmic Dust
4. Sparkles & Debris
5. Cake
6. Halo of Fire
7. Good Times
8. Love Charm
9. Amaryllis
10. Queen of Darkness
11. All I Am

Pre-order Sparkles & Debris.