Peter Gabriel's First Four Albums Treated to Vinyl Reissue

Peter Gabriel's First Four Albums Treated to Vinyl Reissue
Peter Gabriel has announced plans to reissue his first four self-titled solo albums on limited edition vinyl. Colloquially known by their Hipgnosis-designed artwork as Car (1977), Scratch (1978), and Melt (1980), followed by Security (1982), the four records will be hitting shelves again for the first time since 2002 this fall.
Limited to 10,000 individually numbered copies of each, the remastered albums will arrive on October 2 through Real World.
The original recordings have been half-speed remastered by Tony Cousins and cut to laquers at 45 RPM by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering. The process was overseen by Gabriel's primary sound engineer Richard Chappell.
Car, Scratch, Melt and Security will each arrive as double 180g LPs in gatefold sleeves with enhanced versions of the original artwork.
"I really wanted the first record to be different from what I'd done with Genesis so we were trying to do things in different styles," said Peter Gabriel, talking about the set of albums in a press release. "A bit of barbershop, which Tony Levin helped with, there were more bluesy things, a variety of songs and arrangements that were consciously trying to provide something different than what I'd done before."
The rest of Gabriel's catalogue is expected to be given the half-speed remaster treatment over time, with details to follow. Below, see the tracklistings for the upcoming rereleases.
Peter Gabriel 1 (Car):
Side A:
1. Moribund The Burgermeister
2. Solsbury Hill
Side B:
1. Modern Love
2. Excuse Me
3. Humdrum
Side C:
1. Slowburn
2. Waiting For The Big One
Side D:
1. Down The Dolce Vita
2. Here Comes The Flood
Peter Gabriel 2 (Scratch):
Side A:
1. On The Air
2. D.I.Y.
3. Mother of Violence
Side B:
1. Wonderful Day In A One-Way World
2. White Shadow
Side C:
1. Indigo
2. Animal Magic
3. Exposure
Side D:
1. Flotsam and Jetsam
2. Perspective
3. Home Sweet Home
Peter Gabriel 3 (Melt):
Side A:
1. Intruder
2. No Self Control
Side B:
1. Start
2. I Don't Remember
3. Family Snapshot
4. And Through The Wire
Side C:
1. Games Without Frontiers
2. Not One Of Us
Side D:
1. Lead A Normal Life
2. Biko
Peter Gabriel 4 (Security):
Side A:
1. The Rhythm Of The Heat
2. San Jacinto
Side B:
1. I Have The Touch
2. The Family and The Fishing Net
Side C:
1. Shock The Monkey
2. Lay Your Hands On Me
Side D:
1. Wallflower
2. Kiss Of Life

Peter Gabriel Half-Speed Vinyl Remasters from Real World on Vimeo.

Matt Colton from Alchemy Mastering discusses the new vinyl re-issues of Peter Gabriel's first four self-titled solo albums.

The albums, including the two German versions of Peter Gabriel 3 and 4, have been Half Speed Remastered and cut to lacquers at 45RPM. The albums, released on 2 October 2015, will be pressed on Double Vinyl (180g) and come with sleeve imagery sourced and re-scanned from the original artwork.

More details at