Peter Katz Announces New LP, Shares Video with Royal Wood

Peter Katz Announces New LP, Shares Video with Royal Wood
Canadian singer-songwriter Peter Katz has announced plans for his latest studio album, titled We Are the Reckoning.
The new set of songs will arrive on March 31 via MapleMusic Recordings/Fontana North, marking Katz's first release since recently signing with the label. It follows his 2012 full-length effort Still Mind Still.
We Are the Reckoning showcases an artistic evolution for Katz, who embraced creative progress in order for listeners to approach his new music with fresh ears.
"With this record, I took my time; I shook myself up, threw myself into unfamiliar territory and took some big risks," said Katz in a recent press release. "I had to make better art and I had to stop being so good at answering emails and updating my website and get better at writing songs and push myself creatively. I kind of abandoned my email for months on end, slowed down my touring, and worked on music. I wrote songs like a maniac, I put myself in rooms to write with all kinds of people that intimidated me, I studied the masters, and I put the music first, with no deadline."
More than two years and 50 songs later, the final result is a finely tuned 11-song collection. It was co-produced by Royal Wood and Bill Lefler. Appearances from musicians like Scottish singer Rachel Sermanni, lap steel player Ben Peeler (Fleet Foxes, Jimmy Cliff, Wallflowers) and Felicity Williams (Bahamas) add their own special touches to the new material.
You can hear a sample of the new sound, and check out some brand new accompanying visuals,  as Katz has offered up the Royal Wood-featuring video for lead single "Brother." It's a touching tribute the boyish bond of brotherhood, and you can watch the premiere in the player below the tracklisting. The album artwork is pictured above.
We Are the Reckoning:
1. We Are The Reckoning
2. Lay It On Me
3. Brother (ft. Royal Wood)
4. When The Day Is Done
5. Dark (ft. Rachel Sermanni)
6. Follow The Way
7. Driving A Dream
8. We Won't Mind
9. No Natural
10. Beacon
11. Story You Forgot